MAYU KONOE

Viola

 

 

Die japanisch-niederländische Geigerin und Bratscherin Mayu Konoe wurde 1997 in Amsterdam geboren. Ihre erste Ausbildung erhielt sie an der Sweelinck Academy des Konservatoriums Amsterdam in der Klasse von Coosje Wijzenbeek. 2016 nahm sie dann ihr Studium an der Universität der Künste Berlin bei Mark Gothoni auf. Weitere Anregungen erhielt Mayu Konoe insbesondere durch die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Artemis Quartett, Rainer Schmidt, dem Kuss Quartett, Alfred Brendel, Stephan Picard, Eszter Haffner und Mi-Kyung Lee. Seit der Saison 20/21 studiert Mayu Konoe als Mitglied und Bratscherin des Leonkoro Quartet in der renommierten Streichquartett-Klasse von Günter Pichler im Kammermusikinstitut der Reine Sofia School of Music in Madrid. 

Mayu Konoe sammelte schon in jungen Jahren Erfahrung in der Kammermusik und trat regelmäßig auf internationalen Festivals auf, unter anderem auf dem Internationalen Kamermuziekfestival Utrecht mit Janine Jansen, dem Grachtenfestival Amsterdam und dem Festival Internacional Música Clássica de João Pessoa in Brasilien. 2013 spielte sie zusammen mit dem Pianisten Menahem Presslers anlässlich des 125-jährigen Jubiläums des Concertgebouw Amsterdam. Die junge Geigerin bildete zudem ein Duo mit ihrem Bruder Takehiro Konoe und 2015 gewannen sie den 1. Preis beim Prinses Christina Concours, worauf eine persönliche Einladung der Prinzessin Christina zum C.I.M.A Festival in Italien folgte. Das Duo spielte zudem Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante mit dem Residentie Orkest, Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra und der Sinfonia Rotterdam. Mit dem Leonkoro Quartet wurde Mayu Konoe zu angesehenen Festivals wie dem Mozartfest Würzburg, Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, Rheingau Musik Festival und dem Heidelberger Streichquartettfest eingeladen.

Als Solistin spiele sie mit der Gildenbondsharmonie und dem Yehudi Menuhin School Orchestra London. Mayu Konoe war Mitglied des Ensembles Esperanza und sammelte zusätzliche Orchestererfahrung im Kammerorchester Eroica Berlin und der Kammerakademie Potsdam.

Sie wurde mehrfach durch Stipendien der niederländischen VandenEnde Foundation unterstützt und ist seit 2018 Stipendiat des Vereins Yehudi Menuhin Live Music Now Berlin. 

©2021 Leonkoro Quartet

MAYU KONOE

viola

 

Born 1997 in Amsterdam, Dutch-Japanese violinist and violist Mayu Konoe began her lessons at the age of four with Coosje Wijzenbeek, and in 2006 she enrolled at the Sweelinck Academy at the Conservatory of Amsterdam. She is currently receiving her Bachelor’s Degree at the University of the Arts Berlin with Prof. Mark Gothoni. Mayu Konoe experienced further suggestions in particular from the collaboration with the Artemis Quartet and attended masterclasses of the Kuss Quartett, Rainer Schmidt, Alfred Brendel, Stephan Picard, Eszter Haffner und Mi-Kyung Lee. From the 20/21 season, she started a chamber music study at the Chamber Music Institut of the Reine Sofia School of Music Madrid in the renowned string quartet class of Günter Pichler as violist of the Leonkoro Quartet. 

Mayu Konoe gathered chamber music experience from an early stage and was performing regularly on international festivals such as the Internationale Kamermuziekfestival Utrecht with Janine Jansen, the Grachtenfestival Amsterdam, and the Festival Internacional Música Clássica de João Pessoa in Brazil. In 2013, she was asked to perform together with Menahem Pressler on the occasion of the 125th anniversary of the Concertgebouw Amsterdam. Mayu Konoe also formed a duo with her twin-brother Takehiro Konoe and they were awarded the 1st prize at the Prinses Christina Concours in 2015, which led them to be invited to play in the C.I.M.A. festival in Italy, invited by Princess Christina herself. Additionally, they have also performed Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante with the Residentie Orkest, Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra and the Sinfonietta Rotterdam. As a member of her string quartet, Mayu Konoe was invited to festivals such as the Heidelberger Streichquartettfest, the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, the Mozartfest Würzburg and the Rheingau Musik Festival.

As a soloist, she has performed with the Gildenbondsharmonie and the Yehudi Menuhin School Orchestra London. Mayu Konoe was a member of the Ensemble Esperanza und received additional orchestra experience in the chamber orchestra Eroica Berlin and the Kammerakademie Potsdam. 

Mayu has been supported by several scholarships from the VanDenEnde Foundation, the International Academy of Music in Liechtenstein, and is a scholarship holder of Live Music Now Berlin.